February 15, 2007

Profs Elected to Elite Engineering Academy

Print More

Engineering professors Harold Craighead and Éva Tardos were recently elected to the National Academy of Engineering. The NAE offers one of the highest professional honors to engineering faculty members.

Craighead, who served as the first director of the Cornell Nanobiotechnology Center in 2000, as well as the interim dean of the College of Engineering in 2001-02, specializes in nanobiotechnology, and has, according to a Cornell press release, developed technology that can “detect and identify single bacteria and viruses, nanoscale gas sensors and nanofluidic devices that can separate, count and analyze individual DNA molecules.”

Tardos, member of Cornell’s Computer Science department, has “developed approaches that … prevent the computer from becoming lost in unsolvable problems,” according to a press release.