March 5, 2010

Students Elect Andrews ’11 President of S.A.

Print More

Vincent Andrews ’11 was elected President of the Student Assembly, the University announced yesterday evening. The election, which garnered 5000 student votes, was a “hard-fought” race, according to Rammy Salem, outgoing president of the Student Assembly.

“I thought I had the better ideas. And, in the end, the voters recognized me and my philosophy,” Andrews stated.

Andrews won 1,626 to Brokman’s 1,282. Andrews had been vice pesident of Public Relations, while Brokman was at-large representative. Brokman will remain the at-large representative.

“Look, Vince Andrews knows the system, and he understands how to get the student voice in the Reimagining Cornell process,” said Nikil Kumar, executive vice president of the outgoing Student Assembly, “and he will stand up to preserve the undergraduate student experience. It’s gonna be a challenging year in this Reimagining Cornell process, but I’m glad they elected Vincent Andrews.”

Andrew’s vice president will be Raymond Mensah ’11, who garnered 1,524 votes to new-comer Chauncy Jenkins ’10. Jenkins will remain at-large representative after Mensah.”

Executive board members were not the only ones who were locked in tight races.

Students of the College of Arts and Sciences elected Natalie Raps ’12 as one of three representatives, along with Jon Rau ‘12 and Ankur Bajaj ’13.

Raps ‘12 praised the presidential choice of Andrews.

“The contested election brought great challenges, but great rewards, after knowing that talking to different segments of the student body really made a difference,” Raps said.

Scott Pendleton was elected as engineering representative, with 258 over the favored Matt Scheff with 232 votes.

Adam Gitlin ’13 won ILR representative with 194 votes over Gleb Drobkov’s 142.

“The Industrial and Labor Relations school deserves a voice in the Reimagining process,” Gitlin said. “This election is all about getting the ILR student voice heard.”

As for the other representatives, Savion N. Agard will represent the school of Hotel Administration, while Daniel Kuhr, who ran unopposed, is to become the Human Ecology school’s representative.

— Compiled by Sun Staff

Original Author: Sun Staff