April 15, 2010

Track Teams Look to Continue Their Success at Weekend Competitions

Print More

The men’s track and field team will compete in the Cortland Invitational tomorrow while the women host Penn. Led by sophomore Melissa Hewitt’s meet record-breaking 100 meter dash, the men’s and women’s track and field team sprinted its way through another successful meet last weekend at the Bucknell Invitational. Cornell hopes to continue its success at the Cortland Invitational this Saturday.   The men showed their proficiency in all different types of competitions as they won four events last weekend in distance, sprints and field events. The team hopes to ride the momentum going into this weekend’s meet. In the distance meets, the men will hope junior Nate Edelman, who placed first at Bucknell in the 10,000 meters (30:01.24), can continue his success.  In sprints, the men will rely on the 4×100 quartet of junior Andy Ahart, freshman Jedidiah Yiadon-Adarquah, sophomore Chase Aaronson and freshman Bruno Hortelano-Roig –– a relay that also won at Bucknell in 41.47. In the throwing events, senior Scott Jaffee is expected to shine after placing first in the discus at 168-7.  The women performed even better at Bucknell, winning seven events. Cornellians might want to keep an eye out for junior Kim Standridge, who won the 1500 in 4:33.51 last weekend. In sprints, the Red will rely on the 4100 team of junior Mecha Santos, Hewitt, senior Megan Williams and senior Krystal Williams, who finished in 46.38 to place first by nearly two seconds at Bucknell. Senior Jess Weyman looks to continue her success in the 400 hurdles after finishing in a season-best 60.02 to place first as well. Hewitt also won the 100 in a meet record time of 11.86. Also setting a meet record was the 4×400 team of sophomore Kelsey Reimnitz, senior Megan Williams, senior Kate Backel and Weyman (3:44.28). Low-pressure meets such as the Cortland Invitational serve as a tune up for the more important meets in the latter half of the season, such as the ECAC championships for the women and the IC4A Championships for the men.

Original Author: Jimmy Xi