Physics Professor Peter Lepage Wins Sakurai Prize

The American Physical Society announced that Prof. Peter Lepage, physics, will be the recipient of the 2016 J.J. Sakurai Prize for his research in quantum field theory, according to the University. The award, which recognizes work in Lepage’s specific field, comes with $10,000. The Sakurai prize has been awarded for 30 years. Lepage is the first Cornellian to receive it since Prof. Emeritus Toichiro Kinoshita, physics, won it in 1990. Lepage and his team have been working extensively on creating new ways of speeding and streamlining the process of simulating the ways protons, neutrons and other particles interact with each other by using quarks and gluons, in a field called quantum chromodynamics, according to the University.