November 7, 2007

Town, City of Ithaca Elect New Officials

Print More

Ithaca Mayor Carolyn Peterson (D) was elected to another 4-year term yesterday in one of this year¹s many uncontested races for City and Town of Ithaca offices.
All candidates for seats on the Common Council, including Eric Rosario (D), Second Ward alderperson-elect; Joel Zumoff (D-3rd Ward); Svante Myrick ¹09 (D), Fourth Ward alderperson-elect; and Dan Cogan (D-5th Ward) were unopposed this year in both primary and general elections.
Myrick will replace Gayraud Townsend ¹05 (D-4th Ward), whose 4-year term expires Dec. 31. Rosario, the only other new addition to the Common Council, will replace Michelle Berry (D-2nd Ward), whose term will also expire at the end of this year.
Peterson will lead the City for a second consecutive four-year term. Elsewhere in the area, Herb Engman (D) was elected to his first term as supervisor in the Town of Ithaca. Engman had earlier won the only contested race in the town this year, a primary election against current Supervisor Cathy Valentino (D). William Goodman (D) and Eric Levin (D) were elected to their first terms on the Ithaca Town Council, while Peter Stein (D) was reelected, all in uncontested races.
Molly Fitzgerald (D), Richard Rich Jr. (D) and Philip Rumsey (R) were elected to the State Supreme Court as justices from the 6th Judicial District, which encompasses Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Madi son, Otsego, Schuyler, Tioga and Tompkins Counties.
All results are unofficial.