April 29, 2005

The Redbud Rebellion

Print More

11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

President Jeffrey S. Lehman ’77 meets with Danny Pearlstein ’05, Fabian Canas ’07 and Amelia Apfel ’08 in his office on the third floor of Day Hall.

12:45 p.m.

After Lehman leaves his office, Pearlstein, Patrick Young ’06, Daisy Torres ’05, Jordan Wells ’07 and Kjirsten Alexander ’07 enter Lehman’s office and chain themselves together. Apfel, Laura McIntyre ’08 and Ethan Middlebrooks ’07 enter with them as “helpers.” They would call themselves the “Redbud Eight.”

2:00 p.m.

The “Rally for Redbud” begins on Ho Plaza.

2:45 – 3:00 p.m.

The rally moves to Day Hall, filling the entire lobby. Protesters sing Cornell’s alma mater.

5:45 p.m.

Police officers enter Lehman’s office and begin to detach the protesters. Apfel, McIntyre and Middlebrooks are forced to leave the building.

Pearlstein and Wells are handcuffed and placed in a police car. The two would eventually be brought back into the building when the police cars could not pull out due to protesters blocking their way.

6:30 p.m.

Pearlstein is released from the building, followed by Wells.

7:00 p.m.

After negotiations, Young, Torres and Alexander are released, following the dispersal of the crowd blocking the driveway.

Archived article by Sun Staff